Longing for an open road…

‘Living simply isn’t necessarily that it’s simple; it’s that you strive for understanding what sacred is and what values are.’

Maybe it’s because when I was a kid and my dad was in the Navy, we moved a lot and this involved packing ourselves (and multiple cats, dogs and rabbits) into a station wagon and driving hundreds of miles. Or maybe it’s because I’m a wandering gypsy at heart. Or because I love the freedom of travel and the elusive, tempting nature of unknown destinations, the promise of adventure offered by horizons. Whatever the reason, I love road trips, the idea of road trips, stories about road trips and films about road trips.

I find there’s something so pure and amazing about the idea of throwing a few possessions into a car, loading up a few snacks and some great tapes or CDs, and hitting the road. Watch the fields flash past, listen to the wind roaring through those open windows, and just feel foot loose and fancy free for even just a few hours. Longer if possible. Or maybe forever! Amazing.

Anyway, I’ve gotten all itchy-footed watching this trailer for the documentary 23 Feet, about a community of people who have given up the ‘creature comforts’ of modern society to live in vans and buses, pursuing their life passions and love of nature. This is simple living done big style! I’m not sure when the film will be released or how I’ll get my mits on it, but I am dying for more! Check it out.

Here’s a cool article about the project too: 23 Feet: only the Necessities- Living Fully by Living Simply

3 thoughts on “Longing for an open road…

  1. Hi Allie,
    Thanks so much for the comment! I’m so excited about your documentary. I’m currently living in Turkey, so I’m not really sure how I’ll get to see it, but I’ll check out the link you sent me, and if nothing else, I’ll look for the DVD when it’s out. Also, I love the song that’s playing in the trailer. Any chance you could tell me who that is?

    Again, thanks so much for stopping by and I wish you the best of luck with 23 Feet!

    All the best,
    Kim

  2. Word. It is 4:39am here and I am still awake because I’ve been planning the details of my 5.5 week roadtrip that I want to take this summer :) :) :) :) I might not get to take that long, but it will be awesome if I can! Miss you woman!

Leave a Reply

