Fred at six months: food and attempts at crawling…

Well, Fred has started on solid food… although I suppose puréed apricot and baby rice aren’t really that solid, but you know what I mean. We’re off to an auspicious start. He is already an eating machine! I’ve made him small portions of course, but he’s eaten loads for his first three ‘meals’ and sort of strains to get closer to the spoon and looks like he’s dying to get the next bite! I know it’s a bit too early to get my hopes up, but if things continue like this, it looks like we might have yet another little foodie on our hands. Yay!

I have to say, I’m delighted it’s time to start him on food now. It’s more work of course, because apart from the baby rice, I make everything else from scratch. But sometimes it feels a bit challenging getting him to breastfeed, especially now that he gets so distracted by what’s going on around him and because I think he just wants so much to be on the move, it can be a bit annoying trying to get him to feed, even when I know he must be hungry. So, now with solid foods coming into the picture, I feel like I won’t have to worry so much about his feeding. I know breastmilk is the most important food for him for the entire first year, but still. It’s good to know he’ll be getting a bit extra in his belly each day!

He also looks like he’s going to start crawling pretty soon, which is mental! He’s only just six months old! He has been scooting around, spinning and doing the backwards wannabe-crawl for weeks now, but he’s been able to get up on his hands and knees properly for a few days, and this morning he was doing the rocking back and forth thing a bit. My leg happened to be behind him at one point, so he pushed off me a bit to do a sort of forward dive, which was his first successful forward move full stop, but he was cheating a bit, so it doesn’t really count. Anyway, I just keep thinking that Liam’s peaceful existence is almost over and soon he’ll have a mobile little brother trying to get him and his stuff all the time! He doesn’t know what he’s in for! Then things will really get interesting around here.

Leave a comment