I’ve been told its a common Turkish experience…

That is: being paid late.

Payday at the college is always the 7th of the month, but we got an email the day before payday to say our pay would be a day late. Needless to say, people weren’t pleased.

Next day, another email. Now we’re not getting paid until Monday. This equals anger and discontent among the crew. The smell of mutiny was in the air! (I don’t think mutiny has a smell, but whatever) There were talks of violent action and open rebellion. Strike, rebellion, etc.  Anyway, my time in dealing with that institution is coming rapidly to an end, so I’m just not too worried about it. Annoyed, but not worried. I can’t say I’m going to miss the place.

On a more positive note, I just got offered a few more hours of teaching work at the good school. I’ll have a one-to-one lesson with a student 2-3 nights per week, which is great news because that’s the perfect amount of work to round out my new schedule! And I’ll even have two full days off during the week. Very exciting stuff.

Okay, now I have to finish my planning for tomorrow’s lesson. And then, BED! My final days of crazy non-stop work weeks will soon be over…

Leave a Reply

