Some truly disturbing information about juvenile prison in America…

NYRblog – The Crisis of Juvenile Prison Rape: A New Report – The New York Review of Books.

I am so disturbed and upset by this article from The Browser about rape and sexual abuse in American juvenile prisons. I was critical of the American justice system before, but this just blows my mind. I am even more upset by the fact that Indiana gets mentioned in the article specifically, which makes it hit home even more. This is about children, some not even teenagers yet, being sexually abused by their fellow inmates, but even more, by prison staff, the people who are supposed to be rehabilitating them and protecting them. These children are in the care of the government, and when these cases are being reported, the state is ignoring or covering up the incidents.

Anyone who ever told jokes or made remarks about how cushy American prisons are, with TVs and all that, or how soft prisons are on ‘criminals’, will have to seriously reconsider their opinions after reading this article.

I hate to post something so depressing, but I just feel like people should know about this. I want to know what can be done about this! I feel like I should write a letter or sign a petition or do something, but I don’t know where to start! When I figure something out, I’ll let you know.

One thought on “Some truly disturbing information about juvenile prison in America…

  1. Pingback: Some more information about sexual assult in juvenile prisons, and what you can do about it… « This thing called Life…

Leave a Reply

