A cold evening in Istanbul…

So, I had my interview today, and it seemed to go well. Basically, the director of the school was positive about my qualifications for the job, but he’s not sure when he’ll actually have an opening available. He’s going to put me in contact with the head teacher from the school’s branch in Kadikoy, on the Asian side of the city, and see if there’s something temporary for me to do over there, while he waits for something to turn up here on the European side.

Anyway, it was positive and its always useful to have more interview experience, but I’m not getting my hopes up too much about it. Kadikoy is kind of a long ways away, and I’m not sure if I want to have a commute again, since that was part of my motivation for leaving Beykent. But I’m leaving my options open, so we’ll see.

Other news is that we had a lovely power        outage this evening, for about half an              hour. Luckily, we had some candles so we    didn’t have to sit in total darkness. And          again, I was reminded of how great gas          stoves are because I was still able to make    us a simple pasta dinner even though we        had no electricity.

I am now just happy to be in our apartment, nice and warm. We splurged and turned the heater on for longer than normal, but it is particularly cold, so I don’t feel bad about it. Its a handy little space heater on the wall above our front door. It heats up really quickly when you turn it on and its nice to get some instant heat when you need it. We really haven’t had to use it much so far this winter, and hopefully that will remain the case.

Just to make sure we are all snuggly and warm, we had some sahlep. I freakin’ love this drink! It is just so good and its just the kind of thing you need on a cold winter night.

Leave a Reply

