Here we go again…

Richie and I got off to another extreeeeemely slow start this morning. We can’t help it! Our bed up in our cosy little loft is just so warm and snuggly! I think we kept pressing the snooze on Richie’s phone for about 2 hours. So lazy. But, in fairness, we have no running water again this morning, which I discovered when I got up to put the water heater on, and the idea of getting up in a chilly apartment without the comfort of a hot shower, was just too much of an obstacle for me to overcome this morning.

We still don’t have water. It is now about 1pm. I admit I’m a bit put-out by this situation. We’ve temporarily been out of water numerous times over the past week, and have occasionally had brief power outages too. I mean it when I say it feels like camping sometimes!

But, when I start to feel myself getting all hot and bothered by the situation, I remind myself, I am the same person who still insists I’d love to go spend some time living in Mongolia or somewhere in Africa. If I can’t deal with a couple of hours of waiting for the water to come back on in the heart of a major world city, then I don’t think I’d last very long living in a yurt, sponge bathing myself once a week outside in the cold steppe, or living in some sweltering, humid tropical-type place in rural Africa, where I imagine nice, steamy showers are also a rarity.

So, my little remedy for moments of annoyance like this are a little poem I learned back in high school. I read it in a book by the Vietnamese Buddhist monk Thich Nhat Hanh, when I first discovered his writings while working on my research paper senior year. Its done me a lot of good over the years. It brings me back to the present moment and helps me remember that its good to be alive, even when life is being a bit annoying or bothersome, and you just want it to get its act together! But you can’t just ‘think’ it. You really have to ‘do’ it while you think it, take a deep breath, relax your tense muscles and connect to the moment you’re in,  if you know what I mean. It really works.

Breathing in I calm my body,

Breathing out I smile.

Dwelling in the present moment,

I know this is a wonderful moment.


Anyway, while I bide my time waiting for the return of the water, I have to do some planning for tomorrow’s classes. I shall think positive thoughts and get productive.

4 thoughts on “Here we go again…

    • Well, the good thing is that no one drinks tap water here anyway, so we always have bottled water on hand for drinking. So, fortunately, being without running water doesn’t keep me from making tea. Thank god! If I couldn’t make tea, I’d be having a really bad day!

    • That would be so amazing. I would love to be your yurting and yakking buddy! I seriously want to go there. A couple of friends of ours spent a month travelling around Mongolia during their year of world travel and really enjoyed it. I’d love to do something similar. I’ve also seen English teaching jobs there, so its always a possibility! I don’t know if I would do a year, but maybe 3-6 months. I’m slowly trying to convert Richie to the idea 😉

Leave a Reply

