Thich Nhat Hanh: a true peacemaker…

As I mentioned in a recent post, I first came across the writings of Buddhist monk and political/social activist Thich Nhat Hanh while writing my senior research paper in high school. Through the years, I’ve read numerous books by him, and have always been inspired by his gentleness, compassion and kindness. He teaches a simple and down-to-earth message of loving yourself and all beings on this earth. He actively worked to promote peace in his native Vietnam during war, and helped found the ‘engaged’ Buddhism movement, leaving a secluded monastic life to help the villagers who suffered so greatly during the war. He persuaded Martin Luther King, Jr. to publicly oppose the Vietnam war, and later nominated King for the Nobel Peace Prize. He is truly a man of compassion, wisdom and love, and has been working to promote peaceful living for decades.

Honestly, I could go on and on about him. One certainly doesn’t have to be a Buddhist to see what an amazing man Thich Nhat Hanh is. I had just been flicking through some articles online today when I stumbled upon this article in Tricycle magazine. Its short and simple, but it just seemed to be the sort of thing I needed to read today.

Anyway, I basically recommend checking out any of his books, no matter what your spiritual or ethical leanings are. I’m positive you’ll be uplifted and inspired.

Leave a Reply

