Back to the basics…

Tonight I was reminded of the basics of teaching English, and why they are useful and relevant. I am covering a class, just for two nights this week, for a teacher who is on holiday. I had three adult students, and I think they are sort of near the end of and Elementary curriculum. Well, teaching a class of elementary students is COMPLETELY different from teaching the upper-intermediate and advanced students I’ve gotten used to.

You really have to plan more for elementary, I think. Be careful about how you explain new vocabulary and grammar. You have to make your instructions very simple, to the point and clear. You have to give clear examples of meanings and tasks. It was very eye opening and a good reminder that I should be using all the techniques I learned in my CELTA teaching course a year ago. I enjoyed it though. I have the same class again on Thursday night, and I’m looking forward to the opportunity to improve my teaching a bit and plan more thoroughly for that lesson.

Other news: it is snowing again! It was raining most of the day, and this evening when I left for work at about 5pm, it was raining fairly heavily. I got it into my head to walk to work, but it is really windy walking down Istiklal Caddesi, and so I got soaked. My runners were soaked, my trousers where soaked, my coat was soaked. So, then I was pretty freezing cold too. It wasn’t the best way to arrive at the school for a 3 hour class! I brought a change of shoes anyway (the runners where just for the long walk up and down the hill where the school is), so that helped. Then I just stood near the radiator for most of the class. Luckily, one of the students offered me a lift home, which I gladly accepted. By then it was snowing, big fluffy sticky snow flakes. He said it was supposed to snow a lot for the next couple of days, so we’ll see. As long as I still get to go to work, I don’t mind.

Well, I guess that’s about it for my daily update. I’m just happy to be warm and snug at home now, and I’m looking forward to heading for bed.

Leave a Reply

