I love it when a plan comes together…

I had such a great evening of teaching! I’m covering a class at Rennert for a teacher who is on holiday. They are about at the end of an Elementary level course, and I haven’t taught any classes at that level before. I first had the class on Tuesday, and it was a bit of a shock to the system! So much different than teaching more advanced students! You really have to simplify your language, be very clear with all instructions and teaching, give lots of examples and demonstrate tasks, etc. I felt a bit out of my depth on Tuesday, but I think I made a decent recovery today.

Tonight I did a much better job of creating a grammar lesson that worked, and that students understood.  And I actually got to do some games/activities, conversation activities, different partner-related work: all these things you can’t do with one-to-one lessons. I will miss it. Starting next week I’m up to about 30 hours of teaching (which is a lot, for all you non-teachers out there), and all my work will be with single students. One-to-ones certainly have their benefits too, so I won’t complain.

Well, tonight we’re heading out for a couple of drinks with some friends. I’m not sure who is going, but it will be nice to catch up with everyone who’s there. We’ve been hibernating and are in need of socializing!

Leave a Reply

