It’s a good life…

So, I’m starting to feel like I have a routine. A real routine! Weird. Its sort of nice. In fact its quite nice. However, it doesn’t make for very interesting blog updates.

Today is yoga Monday, which was AMAZING! Ah, I love it. Then lunch with Delpha. Then shopping for fruits and veggies for dinner. Then a shower. Now a cup of tea and looking over the stuff I have planned for my lesson tonight. Monday and Wednesday nights are my favourite for teaching.

So, for the time being, I have some sense of stability, probably for the first time since we’ve been here. I don’t expect it to last long, but still. I shall enjoy it while its lasts. However, I have a confession to make. Ever since our friends Steve and Erika escaped by midnight bus from Istanbul, I have had a case of itchy feet. There’s a certain romance to the whole idea of packing up your bags, jumping on a bus and heading off to the horizon.

I know its crazy. After all these months of coping and struggling to settle, and how emotionally draining it all has been, part of me wants to abandon the little bit of stability I’ve got to leap into a whole new round of chaos and turmoil! Oh, when will I ever settle down and relax? Possibly never. I think I’ve had a travel bug all my life.

Anyway, never fear. We will be in Istanbul for many months still, and I’m not really in a rush to leave. I am going to enjoy every second of our time here.  I definitely have a restless streak in my personality, but I also know an amazing experience when I see it. Life is great right now. I am so happy to be here, I feel healthy and strong and full of optimism. We have made some lovely friends, we have fantastic jobs, are gaining excellent work experience, we are actually making some money. There is an awful lot for us to be thankful for. In March we will have lots of visitors, which is definitely something to look forward to. First, Diarmuid and Andrea, our best buddies from Dublin; then the lovely Jen, coming all the way from D.C., and finally Richie’s parents and his sister Frieda and her boyfriend Thomas. Its going to be so great! We’ll feast on amazing food, see all kinds of cool places, hopefully finally go on that Bosphorus cruise (at least once).

Anyway, on and on I babble. I better get productive and do some planning while dinner’s simmering.

Leave a Reply

