We’ve finally made it!

Well, after waiting and waiting and WAITING, to get out of our old apartment, we have finally moved into our new AMAZING apartment. Once we decided to move, it became excruciatingly painful to stay in our old place. The eternal darkness, the constant construction in neighbouring apartments, the smell of smelly cats whenever we opened our windows to let a bit of ‘fresh’ air in, the problematic plumbing… oh, my, god, I couldn’t wait to get out of there.

So, last night we moved in and spent our first night in our new home. It is so lovely and its like a place where REAL PEOPLE LIVE! One thing I love the most is that there are windows, windows and more windows. We’re on the third storey, and the place is just full of light and there are lovely views from the front. We have a balcony too, which is fantastic. We’ve got some clothes and stuff hanging on the lines, actually getting dry (it took days for things to dry in our old, dank basement) and there is also a table out there where we shall have some lovely summer meals and enjoy the sun.

In addition to actual sunlight and fresh air, there are birds and trees and other plant life in the neighbourhood as well. A lovely red dove likes to come an sit on the rail of our balcony. In the garden, there are actual fig trees and some kind of berry trees (I keep forgetting what they’re called). In stark contrast to the party/going-out area where we have been living, this is a much more residential and quiet place. There are nice local shops, bakeries, green grocers, little corner shops, etc, some small parks and on Thursdays there’s a market about a one minute walk from our door. We went there today and stocked up on all our fruits and veggies. Strawberries are in season and are DELICIOUS. And tonight we had some of the most beautiful and flavourful tomatoes I’ve ever tasted. And I ended up buying something that I think is a purple variety of basil. Oh. My. God. So good. I imagine food here in the summer will be absolutely great. The beautiful colour of everything, and such rich smells, oh, so, mouthwatering.

Apart from the new apartment, I have also started a new job! I’m working at a new school, which is actually just a few minutes walk from our place. It’s a school with a good reputation and is on the higher end of things. This job change is also a bit like a promotion. I’ve started a beginners class, and then in two weeks I start two more evening classes. I’m also doing some private lessons too, so I’ll have tons of work to do, but at least its a chance to be making a bit of extra money, which can then be a buffer for when we are, inevitably, short on hours some stage in the future. I think the new job will be great and I think I’ll learn lots too.

Well, I’m exhausted now and heading for bed. I plan to post pics of the new apartment tomorrow. Yippee, its great to have the internet again! Goodnight!

4 thoughts on “We’ve finally made it!

  1. Congrats to both of you. It has to be great. I am happy for you. Good luck with the new job. love, Aunt Carole

    • Hi Aunt Carole, and thanks 🙂 Things are good, and we’re really happy. Things still feel pretty hectic, but there are so many positive things happening at the moment, so I can’t complain. I hope all is well with you and Uncle Murph! Please tell him I said hi!

  2. Thrilled to see all your good news Kim and Richard. The new apartment, location and job sound wonderful— looking forward to photos! Best of luck.

    • Hello! Sorry I didn’t get to talk to you the other night when Richie rang. I was just super tired and went to bed. I’ve got that early lesson now three days a week so I get up at about 6.30. It means I actually go to be a bit earlier too 🙂 Anyway, things are going great and I’ll definitely plan to be awake the next time Richie rings you. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

