Life update…

Well, Richie’s in the kitchen cooking up some pasta for dinner, so I figured I should write a little update. Its been a productive and very busy week. What else is new!? We took care of some important stuff, like applying for our new residence permits. Its one of those not-so-fun bureaucratic things you have to do when you’re a foreigner somewhere. It involves paperwork, lines, annoying pushy people who want to get in front of you in the queue, waiting, paying lots of money, and at least a little confusion. Especially when you can’t speak the language of the country you’re living in! But we were very lucky to have Delpha save the day once again, and help us out. Actually, on the second day we returned to the ‘foreign police’ station/department and managed okay, despite our language deficiencies. I have to say that overall, I have experienced so much patience from people here even though I can barely speak a word of Turkish!

Hm, what else? Well, I started two more classes this week at my new job. Now I have classes there 5 days a week! My new groups are two students each, and they all work for the same company. So, I’m teaching business English for the first time. To be honest, I didn’t think it would be something I’d enjoy, but I figured I better try it sooner or later, just so I had more work options. But the business English books seem to be quite good and sometimes more interesting and useful than the general English books I’ve used. So, I think this whole business side of things could be quite enjoyable. Overall, I’m pretty happy with the new job, but I do feel a bit anxious about it at the same time. I feel more concerned about my performance and a bit stressed because I want to make sure I do a good job, but I suppose that’s probably normal for a new job.

I keep meaning to take more pictures of our new area, and then forget all about it. I had the camera with me all day and not a single photo! I’ll try to do better this week.

3 thoughts on “Life update…

    • Haha! Well, we don’t really have a timeline, to be honest. But I do think we’ll be here for at least another year. We’ve just signed a one year lease for our apartment and the residence permits are for a year. We’re sort of waiting for things to improve a bit more in Ireland before trying to go back. I think I’ll definitely apply for all the teaching jobs I can around Ireland for the next school year and hope for the best. Besides, a year flies by so quickly, it will be over before we know it! I can’t believe we’ve been here for 8 months already! And we still haven’t seen anything in Turkey outside of Istanbul.

      So there you go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

