It’s not that exciting…

… but it’s life. Things are going well. Richie and I both have tons of hours of work, which is a good thing. Its nice to be busy and its even better to not be broke! I’m not sure if I mentioned in a previous post, but last week I started a couple of new classes at my new job. I have four students, all from the same company, for two separate two-student lessons. They seem to be quite serious about learning English and its also the first time I’ve taught business English. I’m enjoying the professional focus of the business English courses, and I think the material is more challenging than in general English books, but in a way, its also more useful and I kind of feel its better presented than previous books I’ve taught from. Anyway, I think the main thing is that its variety and I’m happy to expand my teaching experience.

I also attended a staff workshop today, focusing on teaching young learners. Its great that the new school actually offers regular staff development sessions because its a great way to get new ideas and to continue learning about teaching. I’m hoping to do a few classes teaching kids this summer. It will be some valuable teaching experience, and it also sounds like an important way to get teaching hours when adult classes slow down during the summer months. Since I still have aspirations to become a secondary school teacher at some stage, I might as well get more experience working with kids. Again, variety. I like it.

What else? Well, Richie spent all his free time yesterday going around the city with our friend Delpha changing all of our utility bills, etc. over from her name to ours. Fun. I spent all my free time yesterday cooking mid-day dinner. Richie and Delpha finished all their stuff just in time to come back here and we had dinner together before I had to rush out the door to work. The days this week have felt pretty hectic, but we have been getting lots of important things done, so I can’t complain too much.

Tonight I’m trying to finish up some training for Cambridge English exams for children. There’s a possibility that I’ll be sent, along with some other people I work with, to Bursa, a city south of Istanbul, across the Marmara Sea. I’m not exactly sure if this is actually going to happen, but it sounds like the school is desperate to find examiners, and the pay is good and it means I’ll finally see another place in Turkey! I don’t believe it! Its not the most glamorous reason to travel, but I’ll take it. Anyway, I have to hurry up and do this training thing online so I’ll be ready to go if they still need me to. We’ll see.

So, I guess that’s about it for now. Better get to work!

One thought on “It’s not that exciting…

Leave a Reply

