The goings-on…

Well, things are going pretty well here. The weather has been amazing (as I’m writing this rain is spilling from the heavens!). Things have been pretty routine; Richie’s still working tons, I’m working a reasonable amount and so on and so forth. We’re watching bits of the World Cup which is fun. I don’t really have any strong feelings about football/soccer, but I do enjoy the World Cup. It’s nice because you have a smaller number of teams to keep track of and you see lots of matches in a short time and you feel like you get to know a  little about the teams and players. Plus, I think national sports are more interesting. For me, it’s easier to support a national team rather than some random club from some random place. At least in my opinion. I still prefer rugby though!

My schedule has been a little lighter for the last couple of weeks, so I’ve been able to go to yoga twice instead of once a week. Its been great! I feel like I’ve had some of the best workouts of my life and have been feeling so good! And yesterday after yoga, I went for coffee and a chat with my lovely yoga teacher Deniz. So wonderful and relaxing.

In the last couple of weeks we’ve also had some fun birthday gatherings to attend. First, we went over to our friends Dan and Kathleen’s for their birthday, which was fun. And this past weekend we went over for our friend Sohye’s birthday with our Turkish family. I haven’t eaten so much in ages! Sohye made some homestyle Korean food and it was delicious! And then we had the ‘Turkish course’ made by Sultan. Then dessert. I thought I would die. After all the eating, Yusuf took us up to the rooftop/terrace of their building, which is on Istiklal Caddesi very near to our old apartment. From the street, the building looks old and decrepit and no one lives in the main part of the building, but you can tell that in its heyday it must have been a beautiful building! So, we got a tour of the building, its many rooms with many beautiful views of the city. And at the very top it was absolutely amazing! The view was so spectacular, and I was kicking myself because I didn’t have the camera with us. I’m hoping to go over again very soon, with the camera and get lots of pictures.

Then on Friday last week Richie and I took our first trip to the Princes’ Islands. Well, just one of them really; Buyukada (‘Big Island’ in Turkish). We were really tired from the pub quiz we attended the night before and returned home from at 3.00am, so it wasn’t the most active of days. But the hour and a half long ferry ride was very nice and I’m sure in the future we will return to the island for some cycling and swimming. Even though we didn’t do much this time, it was nice to get the fresh air and get out of the city for a few hours.

So, I guess that’s about it for now. The rain has stopped for the time being so I should probably try to get to the post office and bank!

Leave a Reply

