Positive lifestyle choices…

Environmental responsibility, simple living, thrift, non-consumerism: I’ve been hearing and reading and thinking about these ideas more and more throughout the course of this year. I’ve been really inspired to make some lifestyle changes in relation to these things, and I’m happy to say that I know other people who are doing the same.

I think people are making these lifestyle changes for a variety of reasons; the current financial situation which has made it necessary for people to re-evaluate their spending and consumption habits; people are choosing to improve their quality of life by working less and living in a simpler way materially; many people are realizing the benefits and the necessity of living in a way that is less harmful to the environment, etc. I’m sure that there are tons of different reasons behind the changes, but its interesting to see people coming from many different starting points and motivations but coming to similar conclusions.

My cousin Anne, for example, is doing some pretty great stuff with her family. She’s a young stay-at-home-mom with three little kids. Her and her husband have made a deliberate choice to allow Anne to stay home to raise their children which I think is pretty cool. Anne is into re-purposing (which is basically re-using what you already have in new ways) and is a rather thrifty lady. She’s recently switched from disposable diapers to reusable cloth diapers for her babies. I think she lives in a very simple way, and is ticking lots of boxes when it comes to non-consumerist lifestyle, some environmentally-friendly choices (i.e. no more disposable diapers!), and I think its cool.

Whatever the reason for people adopting these lifestyle changes, be it primarily financial, environmental, or for the freedom of simple living, I really hope they’ll spread the word and that more and more people will jump on the bandwagon! It’s all about the little incremental changes that people make in their lives. You don’t have to make a 100% change in the way you live. Just think of one or two small things you could do to be nicer to the planet or simplify your life and work on those. And tell other people about your successes and experiments! I always find it super encouraging to hear about other people’s experiences and it helps me stay committed to what I think is important.

I’d love to hear about your adventures in non-consumerism, environmentally-friendly living, and simplicity! Leave a comment and share what you’re up to!

4 thoughts on “Positive lifestyle choices…

  1. I think my wife and I lived much more simply in the states before we came to Istanbul. We lived Rural. We gardened, used a reel mower, canned food, shopped for clothes only at the thrift, ate out less, shared more meals with our extended family. We were conscientious simple livers. Actually, a better term I think is strategic living. But ne se. Your posts have rekindled the desire to reclaim this strategic living and to stop using language, not understanding the culture, and living in a city of 15 million as excuses. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

