Gratitude Project: Summer…

This might sound a bit strange, but I am grateful for this hot, sweaty, humid summer. I haven’t experienced a summer like this in ages, or possibly, EVER. Indiana certainly has its humidity and heat, but maybe the difference is that here I walk everywhere and spend more time outside in the heat in general, so I actually experience it more.

I was thinking how great the heat is when I was doing yoga today and was sweating like crazy. It felt great! In Dublin, I used to spend a lot of money doing ‘hot yoga’ (i.e. yoga in sauna conditions!) where the whole point was to sweat and heat up your muscles to increase flexibility and sweat out toxins and bad stuff in your body. But now, I practically live in a sauna! So, walking and yoga-ing and cooking and sitting, everything is hot. I don’t know exactly why, but I think it feels great.

Don’t get me wrong: I really love the occasional dose of air conditioning (we have it at work) and I love having a fan, especially for the hot sticky nights. But overall I’m just really enjoying the season. It’s great to get into the summery-ness of summer and feel it 100 percent.

So, there you go. I’m grateful for this hot sweaty crazy humid summer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude Project: Summer…

  1. I agree that the sun is great…the humidity not so much. I’m glad you seem to be enjoying it enough for all of us though. 🙂

    I’m grateful for air conditioning! 🙂 And I am grateful for the coming fall. I can’t wait for the leaves to turn and the sweaters to come out.

    • I know what you mean about fall Elaine. I think it’s nice to actually experience the different seasons with their different charms 🙂 I do love fall. I think its beautiful, I love the smell of leaves and the crisp air, and I think its a great time to think and reflect.

      And I love a big fat hooded sweatshirt to wear too!

      I enjoyed catching up on your blog yesterday 🙂 Looking forward to more!

Leave a Reply

