But will it make you happy?

First of all, I have to thank my friend Laura for emailing me the link to this great article from NYTimes.com. I think it really gets to the heart of why people are choosing to simplify their lifestyles and it shares some interesting information on how American’s consumer habits are changing for the better (at least in my opinion).

I always find it really encouraging to read other people’s success stories when it comes to simple living. It reminds me that these lifestyle changes are sustainable, rewarding and practical. Ordinary people can and are doing living this way!

I also recommend checking out Tammy Strobel’s blog about her adventures in simple living, RowdyKittens (she was a focal point for the NYTimes article). I’ve already found a recipe for home-made baking soda shampoo which I’m definitely going to try. Practically free, better for you and the environment, no plastic bottles to throw away, and it’s meant to leave your hair super clean and fresh!

I know many of you who read this are doing various things in the realm of simple living, and I’d love to hear what you’re up to. It’s so encouraging to read other people’s success stories, no matter how small or super fantastic! Please leave a comment and share your ideas for living a simple and happy life!

4 thoughts on “But will it make you happy?

    • Thank you Babar! I just watched it! I don’t think I’m quite ready for that level of commitment to simplicity and non-consumerism, but it does make me think I’m still living a pretty cushy life despite all my cut-backs! Do you think I’ll be able to convince Richie to live in a caravan and dumpster-dive for a living? 😉

      Hope you’re well! Take care and maybe we’ll get to talk to you soon!

  1. A rule of thumb for me, I don’t buy it unless there’s a place and a purpose in our home. Making menus had really simplified our life, no excess buying of food. We buy on a weekly basis and at the end of that week our fridge is empty. When going grocery shopping I make a list and stick to it religiously.

    • Thanks for sharing Laura. It’s a great shopping habit to get into-really thinking if you need something before you buy it. Just doing that simple thing can really cut down on the clutter you end up with and save you lots of money! I think the weekly menu is a great way to cut down on food waste too! I’ve sort of been sticking to a menu and it really does help you use up all the fresh food you buy.

      Hope to hear more of your ideas in the future 🙂

      Hugs

Leave a Reply

