In my next life, I want to be a mermaid…

So, in a nutshell, I am madly and passionately in love with the sea. I want to live in it. I wish I could drink it. I want to be a mermaid, and bask in the sun while floating on the salty waves, and play with fishes, every day, forever. If I wasn’t already a (happily) married lady, I’d definitely marry the sea. I’m not sure how that would work out, or if it’s even legal, but still. I’m sure stranger things have happened.

I am just looking through the photos of the lovely blue water and the sun and Karaada (Black Island) and I just want to jump right back into that water. Oh. My. God. It was so amazing. The boat cruised around the island and stopped at a number of beaches, all of which are only accessible by boat. It’d anchor for a bit and we could jump off into the beautiful clear water. A few people did some snorkelling, which looked like fun. We also stopped at a small cave with a thermal spring, which is meant to be very restorative. The cave is famous for its special mineral mud, which is supposed to be very good for your skin- I think even Queen Cleopatra is reputed to have visited this cave to indulge in its muddy beauty treatment, back in the day.

This was definitely the most beautiful place I’ve ever been swimming in my life. It was so fantastic, soothing, salty, invigorating. And the sun was shining so brightly the whole time. We could see fishes swimming around us. The island was lovely and quiet, covered in trees. Its the sort of place you just have to see. It was one of the most relaxing experiences I’ve ever had. A little bit of heaven.

Okay, I have to stop writing about it. All this talk about it just makes me wish I was actually swimming in the sea right now. Sigh.

Dear Aegean Sea,

Thanks for the memories. Hope we meet again soon.

Lots of love, Kim(berly)

5 thoughts on “In my next life, I want to be a mermaid…

  1. AY! Kimmy! Your pics are so beautiful! Do you it is a year ago today that I last saw you?!!?!?! Amazing! I think often of you and Istanbul. Thanks for the wonderful memories. Hope to make more soon.
    heart
    megan

    • Megan, that was so much fun. I can’t believe it was a whole year ago!!! I LOVED hanging out with you and Erin. I really wish you could come again 😀 Hope all’s well in Portland. Lots of hugs!

Leave a Reply

