A pathetically small and ridiculously long overdue step in the right direction…

So, yesterday Richie and I, along with a group of friends/co-workers, officially started Turkish lessons! I mean, we’ve only been here ONE FULL YEAR! That’s not a really long time to hardly learn a word of Turkish, is it? Okay, don’t answer that. I would just like to fully acknowledge the fact that it’s crazy and really lame we didn’t learn much Turkish in the last year, but at least we’re finally going to remedy that situation!

So, starting next week, I will only be blogging in Turkish. Haha, yeah right. But seriously, even just the one lesson was really informative. We learned a few basics about sentence structure and a few bits of vocabulary. I think already I understand some common mistakes that our students learn when speaking English, and I know I will have more and more empathy for the difficulties and struggles of a language learner. I’m really excited about learning Turkish, and I’m sure it will also make me a better teacher. So, I look forward to updating you on our language progress as things develop!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “A pathetically small and ridiculously long overdue step in the right direction…

  1. That’s so exciting! I love languages (obviously), and it will be fascinating to hear about your experiences learning Turkish! I agree that it will be a big benefit for your students. I hope it will be a lot of fun for you to learn! 🙂

    • Thanks Noel! I hope it’ll be fun too! I just can’t wait to actually be able to communicate properly with my neighbours and everyone. It will be so great. And I know it will open a whole lot of doors when it comes to learning more about Turkish culture. Tomorrow is lesson number two and I can’t wait. 🙂

Leave a Reply

