Friday update…

Not too much is going on this week. Richie has had a bit of a sore throat and was slightly under the weather for a couple of days. The weather has been pretty nice; sunny and a bit crisp but sometimes rather warm. I’m just glad that all that rain is over, for the time being. My week-night students came to almost all of their lessons this week, which is good for me financially, but it’s also good for my psychological state I’ve decided. Obviously, having time off and less work is great, but I find that if I don’t have enough structure in my schedule, I can get a bit bored and surly. It was nice to be productive. I also have been better about doing all the domestic stuff too. I cooked some proper meals (so did Richie!), did lots of cleaning around the house, and went to the market yesterday. I am still feeling a bit resistant to the ‘have to’s, but I’m getting there!

We also booked flights and accommodation to go to Cappadocia (Kapadokya) in a week and a half! One of the biggest Muslim holidays- Kurban Bayramı– is that week, so we get some time off and have decided to make the most of the opportunity! We were originally thinking of doing something a bit closer to Istanbul, but some of my students and then co-workers advised a trip to Cappadocia. It sounds absolutely amazing. I can’t wait to see it. I’m going to try and read as much as I can on the internet so I know more about what we’ll be seeing. I find being an informed traveller makes the whole experience much more rewarding and interesting. So that’s my homework.

I am now drinking my morning cup of tea while Richie gets a bit more sleep. Later we’ll probably head into town, go for brunch, hopefully go to a museum and then have dinner with friends later. I also really need to buy a pair of shoes and a few new bits of clothes, but we’ll see. I might do that another day since I don’t want to torture Richie on his day off!

One thought on “Friday update…

Leave a Reply

