Saint Nikolas day and Christmassy thoughts…

Well, I am currently at home listening to some Christmas music thinking about the fact that in exactly TWO WEEKS we’ll be arriving in Ireland for our two-week Christmas holiday! I’m so excited!

So, listening to Sufjan Stevens Christmas music (which I highly recommend, by the way) is the first Christmassy thing I’ve done so far, apart from buy a couple of presents. It is totally un-Christmassy here in Istanbul at the moment. And not because they don’t really celebrate Christmas, but because the weather, up until a couple of days ago, was still so warm! Even last week it was still in the 20s (C)/ 70s (F)! Mental. So, we’ve now had a couple of colder days, but I think it’s meant to warm up again later in the week. So, it’s really confusing me and it is definitely NOT making it easier to believe that Christmas is quickly approaching.

Anyway, this week I plan to do more Christmas shopping and I also want to watch the Miracle on 34th Street and maybe It’s a Wonderful Life. Those are key ingredients in creating the festive feeling. Other than that, I plan to dream of seeing friends and family and eating amazing Christmas food and drinking Guinness and sitting by fireplaces. It’s gonna be great.

Oh, and on a final note, I realized that today is St Nikolas day! And he was from where? You guessed it…Turkey! Okay, it wasn’t Turkey then, but still. He was born and died in Lycia, which is a beautiful holiday destination in southern Turkey now. In Nikolas’s time, it was part of the province of Asia Minor in the Roman Empire.

So, I’d just like to say, that for the man who was the model for cheery ol’ Santa Claus, his legends are very un-kid-friendly. In one he brings back to life three children who were murdered, chopped up, and pickled in a barrel to be sold as ham during a famine, and in the other he discretely donates dowry money for three poor sisters so they won’t have to remain unmarried, and hence, become prostitutes. Interesting. Maybe save those stories for when the kids are older, and stick to ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas’ for now.

Okay, that’s all I’ve got for now! Heading to the kitchen to heat up some leftovers for dinner.

4 thoughts on “Saint Nikolas day and Christmassy thoughts…

  1. Yay! I’m so glad that you and Richie get to go to Ireland for such a nice chunk of time. Live it up girl! I miss you madly. I am going to have to send you a life update soon. Hugs!
    heart
    megan

    • Megan my dearest, I miss you madly too! I hope you are having an amazing Christmassy season with lots of fun and happiness.

      I’ll definitely be waiting for that life update email! I can’t wait 😀

      Lots of hugs, Kim

  2. The weather has made it a bit difficult to get into the spirit. But the lack of Christmassy stuff here (compared to the states) has been freeing for my wife and I to sort of define Christmas ourselves for our kids and us as a family. It has been good to think about Christmas stripped of the frenzy of consumerism in the states. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

