Yummy things…

So, first of all, I am currently obsessed with lemons. This all started just a few days ago, but it has been rather relentless! One of my favourite things, when lettuce is nice and fresh, is a simple green salad, with whatever mix of leaves you like (I really love lolla rosa, cos lettuce, fresh mint or basil leaves, etc.) and a super simple dressing of fresh squeezed lemon juice, olive oil and a dash of salt and pepper. You don’t have to do anything special for the dressing; just pour all the ingredients on your leaves and toss them together. I love having this salad after a meal. My Italian friends (ciaoaya!) eat salad after dinner and say it’s good for digestion. Works for me! This week I’ve just wanted to eat huge heaping bowls of lemony salad! I can’t get enough of it!

Literally, I can’t get enough. So, to further indulge my lemon craving, I just made up a delicious warm treat. Pregnancy has turned me against my old love – tea – and so I have essentially been hot-drink-less for the last two months! But tonight I’ve found a great replacement, inspired by some tea friends from work are currently into. Basically, it’s just juice from half a lemon and a small bit of fresh grated ginger in a mug of boiling water. I added a small bit of honey too. You can add as much ginger as you like; I prefer a decent bit so it’s nice and spicy! I just had a cup of this and OH MY GOD, I love it. Spicy, lemony, and definitely healthy. When I’m finished with this post I’m going to make another cup!

I was just remembering that, a number of weeks ago, I was looking online for natural headache remedies, because I’ve had tons of headaches in the last month or so and hate taking paracetamol/tylenol all the time. One I remember seeing was lemon juice in hot water. I thought that sounded too simple to be worthwhile and ignored it. Now, with lemon-mania taking over my brain and tastebuds, I’m wondering if it’s my body craving that natural headache remedy. It’s probably just a coincidence, but I’m going to experiment on myself for the next while, and have some lemony-something when I get a headache and see what happens. Can’t hurt.

On a non-lemon related note, I found a superfantastic blog and free e-book I am dying to share! The theme is minimalist cooking, which I’m so into! The blog is Stonesoup and the author is food scientist Jules Clancy. She creates amazing recipes, all of which involve 5 or fewer ingredients! In her free e-book, all the 5-ingredient recipes take only 10 minutes to cook. Can’t get simpler than that. They have lots of easy to find and use ingredients that are also super delicious. So it’s easy, but definitely not plain or boring. This looks like the perfect thing if you’re a busy person, you work long hours and are usually too tired to cook or you are a busy parent, or you don’t really like cooking and spending lots of time in the kitchen but you want to eat great food… basically, it looks great for anyone. I’m imagining us in about 6 months, with life taken over by small baby, and thinking that this type of cooking could be such a lifesaver. I think there’ll be lots of recipes Richie might like to try too, since he’s not a big fan of time-consuming cooking. Anyway, I definitely recommend checking out the Stonesoup blog and downloading the free e-cookbook.

Okay, that’s all for now! Happy eating!

4 thoughts on “Yummy things…

  1. 1. You are beautiful.
    2. I’m still REALLY excited that you are gonna be a mama!
    3. I’m so sorry you haven’t been able to drink tea! I know you love it so.
    4. Your enthusiasm for lemons is contagious. I will make sure to have some real soon.
    5. Love you chica! I’ll send you an email soon.
    heart
    megan

    • Thanks Megan! You’re the best. I’ll be eagerly awaiting that email and I hope you enjoy the lemons 😀 Hugs, hugs, hugs and love, love, love!!!

  2. Our Uncle Mark (I’m sure you’ve met him) told me they do that over in Italy. I’m positive they are right about it helping with digestion – especially after eating all that pasta.

    All the lemon stuff sounds so refreshing. I’m going to try your dressing next time I make a salad!

    • I hope you like the dressing. It’s the simplest thing ever, but I really prefer it to any other kind of dressing, so it works out perfectly! I just ate breakfast, but I’d seriously consider having a bowl of salad right now! Yum. Big hugs 🙂

Leave a Reply

