To America and back…

Well, it’s been a week since I returned from my holiday in Indiana. It was such a great trip, I hated to see it come to an end. It was so so so relaxing, I got to spend lots of time with family, did tons of talking and eating and sleeping and hanging out. It was especially nice to be there before my brother Aaron and his wife Leslie moved out to California. They’ll be out there for at least six months, while he finishes some of his navy schooling, but he could be there longer, so I’m glad I got the chance to see him before all of that. I spent lots of time with my mom, which included shopping for baby clothes, which was especially fun. It was just great to have so much time to catch up. And I had a decent bit of time with my other brother and sisters too, and dad of course. I also managed to eat sausage or bacon pretty much every day. I didn’t even purposely set out to do that; it just happened, but I loved every bite of it! Now it’s back to a pork-free existence until we’re in Ireland in June. Which is probably better for my health, but whatever. It tasted good while it lasted.

So, the travelling itself was pretty painless, considering each trip took around 20-24 hours in total. But the jet lag returning to Istanbul was the worst I’ve had yet! After a few days I wasn’t too bad, but still… I was so sleepy! I was lucky that I came back to a public holiday I had forgotten about, so I got extra sleep and it was really nice to spend that extra time with Richie after our two weeks apart. I missed him loads and, although it’s always hard to come back from a great holiday, it’s been so lovely to be back in our normal routines together.

While I was in America, I got a few pregnancy/birth related books and I’ve been enjoying reading them. One great thing I read, which I think has made an obvious improvement in how I feel, is that I need to be eating far more protein than I previously was. I didn’t realize just how much I needed! I was having so many headaches, and I’ve still had a couple in the last few weeks, but after starting to eat more protein-rich foods, I’ve had far fewer. I don’t know if that’s directly connected, but eating the right food, in small, frequent portions seems to be doing me some good anyway. So, now it’s lots of milk, yogurt and eggs, as well as some peanut butter and more meat, making up the bulk of my diet. I’ve been eating porridge/oatmeal, with fresh fruit and lots of milk and that’s been so delicious and nutritious too. I just feel really happy knowing I’m eating stuff that’s good for me and baby.

This evening I’m having some fun washing all the baby clothes my mom and I picked out. She was such a great help. It was funny, but I realized as we were shopping that I’m totally clueless. Shopping for baby clothes sounded like a no-brainer, but when we were there looking at everything, I had no idea what and how much I needed of anything! I’m glad she was there! So, everything is now washed and currently drying out on the line. Then I’ll be able to put them all away nicely until they’re needed. It’s so fun to look at them all and imagine that in 4 months we’ll have a little baby to put in them! I’m so excited about it! And my belly is finally popping out, and I seriously need to buy some more maternity clothes! I have a couple of tops, but what I desperately need are trousers or skirts or whatever. Everything I have is just too tight! I’ve also been feeling the baby move more, and this morning it was starting to feel more like kicks than that sort of gurgley feeling it was to begin with. It’s so reassuring to feel him moving and have that happy reminder that he’s in there!

Well, guess that’s all for now. My next big things to accomplish are getting some maternity clothes ASAP (hopefully tomorrow) and making an appointment to meet my possible doula. I can’t wait to meet her and talk about everything! It’ll be exciting and a great relief to get that sorted out. More updates soon!

3 thoughts on “To America and back…

  1. Mom’s are the best aren’t they?! I know. I am one! 😉

    I don’t know what I’d do without my mommy!

    I’m sorry I didn’t get to see you and our conversation was weird because we couldn’t hear each other but it sounds like you had a great time. I love that. Have fun eating loads of protein and we’ll talk soon!

    • Haha, yeah, our conversation was interesting, but it was better than nothing! I’m just sorry we got cut off and didn’t get a proper goodbye! I really really hope somehow we can meet up on my next trip. We’ve got to plan something!
      On another note, I’ve been loving your cute pictures of Mary Grace in her little pigtails! So cute!!!

  2. I’m SO SO SO glad I got to visit with you!!!! I miss you already!! Well, actually, I missed you as soon as you left my house, but I’m glad that you’re back safe and sound with your hubby.

    I cannot wait to hear all about your meeting with your doula. If you don’t blog about it, email me!!! Hugs and love!

Leave a Reply

