Just hanging out and waiting…

Well, not really much to report. Things are good, but nothing particularly interesting happened last week. It does feel a bit strange not having to go to work, mostly in a good way! However, I know I’m definitely the kind of person that needs to get out of the house everyday for some stimulus from the outside world to keep me from getting bored and a bit cranky. I  managed pretty well last week, meeting up with friends most days, and getting out with Richie too when he wasn’t working. Apart from that, I’ve just been enjoying cooking more, which I wasn’t doing so much when I was teaching a bit more last month and when it was just that little bit hotter and the last thing I wanted to be doing was slaving away over a hot stove! It’s been good being at home more too because I definitely eat healthier when I’m at home more. Sometimes it seems like getting proper nutrition for me and baby is a full time job, constantly making sure I’m getting enough calcium and iron and protein and avoiding sugar and salt, getting at least my two litres of water a day, etc. And it’s nearly impossible to do all of those things when I’m out of the house a bit more. Anyway, it feels good to be eating and drinking healthily, but it’s also a bit of work.

I’ve been doing tons of reading in the last week or so, which has been great. I read an interesting and very thought-provoking book by author Jared Diamond called ‘Collapse: How societies choose to succeed or fail‘. In a nutshell, it’s about societies, past and present, who have either fallen apart as a consequence of wrecking their environment as well as other factors such as dealing with hostile enemies or the societal collapse of helpful allies, etc. It’s most certainly a book I will take some time to digest and think about, and then maybe write more about later. While I’m at it though, I definitely have to recommend another of Diamond’s books, Guns, Germs, and Steel, which is amazing! Basically, it looks at the reasons why different parts of the world developed as they did, why certain societies developed advanced technologies, domesticated animals and crops, became world powers,and others didn’t. Largely, these differences came down to the natural environments and resources available (or lacking) in various parts of the world. It’s a great book that gives clear reasons why, for example, former ideas of the racial superiority or inferiority are false, and developments aren’t due to innate characteristics of certain ‘races’ or people from certain areas or continents, but are rather the consequences of different availability of resources, historical exposure to and immunity to diseases and germs, and environmental differences. I loved this book and would love to read it again!

So, apart from housework, social life and reading, it’s just waiting time. This is week 35, so not much longer to go before baby arrives! And thinking about that is taking up most of my braincells at the moment, which is why I don’t really have too much of interest to write about on this blog!

One thought on “Just hanging out and waiting…

Leave a Reply

