Goodbye Grammy…

Well, it’s been ages since I’ve actually written anything here, but I’ve been thinking about it a lot. Time just flies by too quickly, and days with an energetic little boy are so full it’s hard to imagine fitting anything else in. But eventually I’ll get around to it. There’s lots to tell.

At the moment too I’ve been a bit preoccupied. My grandmother passed away last weekend, so that’s obviously been on my mind. I wasn’t able to go home for the funeral, and I think it will take a long time for it to truly sink in, but it’s been a sad and strange week.

I don’t want to say much about it here, except that I love her and I’ll miss her. I’m just glad I got to visit her a couple times the last time I was home in the US and I’m so glad that Liam got to meet her. Also, about two weeks ago Liam received a toy computer from her, my grandpa and my uncle, as a birthday gift. Liam was so freakin’ excited when I opened up the box and he saw that thing, he practically pounced on it and wouldn’t even let me touch it to take it out of the box! It was so cute and I’m glad he got it in time for her to know how much he loved it.

You never have enough time in these situations, and you always wish you could have said one more thing, or seen someone just one more time, but at least our last communication was sharing something fun and happy together. And I’m glad she got to know how much her thoughtfulness meant to Liam, and to me.

So, Grammy, we love you and we’ll miss you. Thank you for so many happy memories, for your big heart and for being a wonderful grandmother. It won’t be the same without you.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Grammy…

Leave a Reply

