Doula visit, plans for baby’s arrival and a few brief outings…

Well, I see it’s been two weeks since my last post, so seems like time for an update.

The first thing that comes to mind is that last week we had our June visit from our doula. She went over various massage techniques we might use for labour, etc., so that was quite relaxing and enjoyable. I bought this DVD a while ago and loaned it to the doula. My doctor had recommended it before Liam’s birth, but we didn’t really have enough time then to learn the massages, etc., but it was something I knew I wanted to try if we had another baby. I’m hoping the massage will help as a natural pain management and with keeping me calmer to make the whole process a bit smoother. We’ll see! You never know how these things will go, but it’s better to be over-prepared than under-prepared!

We’ve also been trying to figure out what exactly we’ll do with Liam when the whole labour thing kicks off and we have to go to the hospital etc., and I must admit it’s been weighing on my mind. We have a few friends we’re sorting out baby-sitting plans with, but people have jobs and other commitments, so it could be a bit hectic. Luckily, our doula suggested a great plan to help with this! She’s just moved to a new apartment really close to the hospital we’ve chosen, and also quite close to our doctor’s ‘headquarters’. So, we discussed me heading to her place early in labour, where it’ll be quiet and relaxing and she’ll be there for support. That way Richie can stay at home longer with Liam, which will make things easier in a general way and also make it easier for whoever will be coming over to watch Liam. I really want to ‘stay home’ longer this time (by which I really mean, just not go to the hospital so early this time), but our small apartment with a busy little toddler won’t exactly be the most relaxing place for me to get into the birthing ‘zone’. This fact became especially apparent when the doula was going to begin the massage demonstration on me, and then Liam pushed her away, climbed in my lap and then wouldn’t let her touch me. Then Richie put on a DVD to distract him while her and I escaped to another room and shut the door to hide from Liam for a bit, but when he realized we were missing, he just came bursting through the door and that was the end of ‘relaxation time’ for me! So, yeah, going over to her place sounds like a much better and more realistic option. I’ll be close to the hospital so we won’t have to worry about travel and timing so much, and then when it gets closer to delivery time, Richie can come join us. This plan has made me feel much MUCH more relaxed about everything. Once again, doulas are amazing!!!!!

In completely unrelated news, we’ve finally managed to venture out with our little potty-training guy! I know, it’s taken us ages. He’s been doing great at home and is pretty much completely independent with it when pants-less. We’ve started more practice with shorts on, and him telling us when he needs to go, but this still involves watching him really closely and being on-hand because he hasn’t got the pulling-the-pants-down on his own thing yet. He’s started trying to pull them up, which is something, but it’s still going to take him a while. However, he’s getting better about telling us when he as to go and so I’m happy with our progress. But, before this whole potty training adventure began, we were used to getting out a lot, so I think it was finally starting to make me a bit stir-crazy! Thank god we’ve got the garden to go down to, but it’s just not quite enough. So, on Saturday we just took a walk with Liam in his buggy, stopped by a couple of shops for a few things and then headed home for some garden play-time. He peed before we left and then held it until we got home to his potty, so it was a small success. And yesterday we actually went to a local cafe for tea and dessert (it being father’s day) and it was great! We tried out Liam’s new travel potty and it worked great! One reason why I wasn’t brave enough to venture out with him before was that he was REALLY resistant to us prompting him to use the potty and would kick up a huge fuss. But in the last few days, he’s calmly gone a few times when I did prompt him to go, so I felt a bit more confident taking him out knowing he’d just sit when we arrived and before we left if necessary. Anyway, the little potty is amazing and I’m really happy with it! He sat and went potty no problem and we had a lovely time at the bakery with no accidents.

Okay, I started writing this post about a week ago! Aaaah, I just haven’t been able to find time to sit down and write these days! Richie is putting Liam down for his nap at the moment, so I’m just going to hurry up and finish this thing finally. Anyway, we just got back from a nice Sunday breakfast at the same local bakery mentioned above. It is so fun to be getting out again and still no accidents! We had quite a feast this morning, and it’s been like this for a while, but I still just think it’s great Liam’s at an age where he can just eat what we’re eating. Richie had some spinach and meat borek (pastry stuff) and I got a Turkish breakfast plate, so Liam had bits of everything we were eating. He sat in a chair like a big kid and it was great. I was so happy to get out the door this morning for such a relaxing outing! It is strange how much of a morning person I’ve become, getting up at about 6am most days and actually enjoying getting out or getting things done before 11am. Especially now that the hot weather has arrived, I love that fresh coolness in the early morning hours, before the daily non-stop sweating begins! Okay, I think I’ll stop here because I feel that soon I’ll just start to ramble. Hopefully I’ll get to post more frequently again now, at least for the next few weeks. It’s so much more fun to be able to keep up with the writing thing on a regular basis! I’ll try to post a few photos later too!

Leave a Reply

