Two weeks old…

Well, Fred is two weeks old today! Unfortunately, I don’t have a photo to post, but then again, he looks pretty much the same as he did in the previous two posts, so there you go.

Richie started back at work this week, but not full time thankfully! I’m glad he has the schedule he does, which means he takes care of Liam first thing in the morning so I can get a bit of extra sleep with Fred, and then he’s home for a number of hours in the middle of the day, so we have lunch together and get a bunch of things taken care of, like Liam’s bath, a bit of dish washing, cooking, etc. Just the essentials at this point, but I really don’t know how I’d do it if Richie wasn’t here!

So, I have some time with my two boys in the morning and in the evening, and it’s been interesting. Talk about a learning curve! Yesterday Fred seemed to be cranky all morning and I could hardly put him down for a second, but luckily Liam was in a pretty good mood and was happy playing by himself. And then last night was nice and smooth, Fred fell asleep in my lap and Liam went to bed very easily. Today was the reverse. Morning went much better, but evening was a bit messy. I did have my first Moby wrap victory today, which made me really happy! It was a bit cooler this morning, so I decided to give it a shot on my own and managed to get Fred in there comfortably on the second try. He was probably in there for 20 or 30 minutes, which meant that I could actually DO SOMETHING! Liam and I danced to Bob Marley, I got to feed myself breakfast and give Liam a late morning snack, and I even got to make a much needed cup of tea! And Fred just had a nice snooze and it was all snuggly and wonderful. I’m so excited for the weather to cool down more in general and I want to have him in the wrap ALL THE TIME! It feels so nice to have him close, and it feels amazing to be able to actually do a few things while holding him! It made such a difference even just to have that peaceful half hour this morning and get those very small things done. I tried to put him in it again this evening so I could throw together a bit of dinner for Liam, but I wasn’t so successful. Fred was already a bit fussy and he just didn’t take too kindly to me trying to get him in there. Plus I suppose it was a bit hot still, so maybe that was part of it. Anyway, I think I’ll stick to putting him in the wrap when he’s already peaceful for now, until I’m really used to the whole thing.

Anyway, the evening was a bit mental with a fussy Fred, and it made me feel like I could really do with at least two more arms. Trying to juggle a discontented newborn while feeding Liam was a bit tricky, but we managed. I was feeling a bit frazzled getting things ready for Liam to go to bed, but in the end, we managed it and I suppose at this point, that’s the main thing. It wasn’t very gracefully done, and we skipped brushing Liam’s teeth, but oh well. I know it’ll get easier and at the moment I have to just take every minutely small victory I can get and feel good about all the things that go right instead of setting my expectations too high. Also, I know that many a person has had more than one child to look after and somehow managed to survive, so I shall take comfort in that!

One thought on “Two weeks old…

Leave a Reply

